Asa “I was looking for love before I recorded ‘Bed of Stone'”

image

Asa shares the inspiration behind her latest album, ‘Bed
of Stone’ as well as some of her favourite Nigerian acts
and possible collaborations.
The next time you listen to Asa’s ‘Bed of Stone’ , you
may want to take a moment to appreciate the absolute
nothingness from which it was spun as the leading
female vocalist has revealed that before she recorded
the album, she felt empty and in need of someone to
love.
Asa who was a guest of ‘The Mid-day Show With Toolz’
on the Beat 99.9 revealed that this emptiness and the
need for change became the inspiration for her album.
“I felt empty, my last tour took a lot of energy from me
and I felt like I’d written everything I could. So the
album was inspired by spontaneity and the need for
change”.
The ‘Eyo’ singer narrated how this need would lead her
to drive for 18 hours from Nashville to New York in the
United States . She would go on to attribute this drive
as the inspiration behind the track “How Did Love Find
Me”.
“I can still see the mountains in my mind when the song
plays and I wondered if its possible to find love here in
the middle of nowhere where nobody knows me” she
said on The Mid-day Show With Toolz.
Asa who admitted to finding love with a non-Nigerian
revealed that there had been talks of a duet with 2Face
Idibia. She also went on to name Yemi Alade , Flavour ,
Cynthia Morgan , Seyi Shay , Selebobo and Olamide as
some of her favourite acts while ‘Duro Soke’ made the
cut as her favourite Olamide track.

Leave a Reply

